Posted in Entertainment, Health, news

Tiger Woods DUI – a Possible Reaction to 4 Medications

Image above from (Left) Palm Beach County Sheriff’s Office, (right) AP

Eldrick Tont “Tiger” Woods was arrested Monday am for suspected DUI.  Alcohol was not involved, but the 41 year old pro golfer was allegedly “asleep” at the wheel when he was found by law enforcement near his home in Jupiter, Florida.

He was allegedly taking four medications:  Soloxer, Vicodin, Torix and Vioxx. These medications appear to be a muscle relaxant (may be a medication similar to Skelaxin), opiate, and two types of non steroidal antiinflammatories.

Monday evening he released the following statement, “I want the public to know that alcohol was not involved. What happened was an unexpected reaction to prescribed medications. I didn’t realize the mix of medications had affected me so strongly.

“I would like to apologize with all my heart to my family, friends and the fans. I expect more from myself too. I will do everything in my power to ensure this never happens again.

“I fully cooperated with law enforcement, and I would like to personally thank the representatives of the Jupiter Police Department and the Palm Beach County Sheriff’s office for their professionalism.”

He had recently recovered from spinal fusion surgery on April 20 after he underwent multiple microdiscetomies for various back injuries throughout his career.  Pain medications, such as opioids, can impair a driver, as well as a mixture of medications that may include muscle relaxants and anti-anxiety medications.  Any of the above could make one appear he is driving drunk.

In response to fans asking if he would play soon, on his website Woods wrote, “I can’t twist for another two and a half to three months. Right now, my sole focus is rehab and doing what the doctors tell me. I am concentrating on short-term goals.”

In addition to being plagued with injuries, including an right knee ACL tear in 2008, his personal life left him bruised as well.

Thanksgiving Day, 2009, Tiger Woods crashed his Escalade outside his Florida home when his then wife, model Elin Nordegren , hurled a golf club at the car after learning of her husband’s extra marital affairs.

288FA50100000578-3076895-image-a-2_1431382389713.jpg

At the time Tiger Woods admitted to having a “sex addiction” and admitted himself into rehab.  In an interview in 2010, Woods said, “For 45 days from the end of December to early February, I was in inpatient therapy receiving guidance for the issues I’m facing. I have a long way to go. But I’ve taken my first steps in the right direction.”  He stated he had “repeated irresponsible behavior” and said, “I was unfaithful. I had affairs. I cheated.”

More details have yet to be revealed regarding Monday’s DUI arrest, but the New York Post  reported he was driving his 2015 Mercedes-Benz “erratically, all over the road” before stopped by law enforcement.

Unfortunately, “sex addiction” and alcohol use, or impulse behaviors go hand in hand.

What is Impulse Control Disorder?

Impulse Control Disorder occurs when one hurts themselves or others by not resisting their temptations.  These temptations could include sexual escapades, drinking binges, eating disorders, excessive gambling, stealing (kleptomania), setting fires (pyromania), and addictions to drugs.

A feeling of guilt comes after one acts on his/her impulse and will be seen especially after an intermittent explosive disorder which involves rage and anger.

Many who suffer from impulse control disorder suffer from mood disorders, substance abuse and/or addictions.

Treatment includes behavioral therapy, treating the underlying addiction, and at times, medications.

                                                                                                       LearnHealthSpanish.com

                                                                                                         Medical Spanish made easy

Daliah Wachs, MD, FAAFP is a nationally syndicated radio personality on GCN Network, iHeart Radio and Board Certified Family Physician

Author:

Nationally Syndicated Radio Host, Board Certified Family Medicine Physician, Assistant Professor Touro University Nevada

Leave a Reply

